Fall 2010 Conference
September 15-17

IAB Fall 2008

MEMS | Research Review: Plenary Talks and *Poster Sessions | IAB Meeting | Workshop |

MEMS for Wireless
17 September 2008
Clark Kerr Conference Center
Krutch Theatre

TimeSpeaker, Event / Topic Information
12:00  On-Site Registration and Pre-Session Mixer
WiFi web access & light refreshments will be available.
13:50  John Huggins
14:00  Prof. Clark Nguyen
MEMS-Enabled Paradigm Shifts in
Wireless Architectures
14:45  Prof. Kris Pister
MEMS for Wireless...Sensor Networks
15:15  Dr. Art Morris
Tunable Front-Ends for Mobile and Cognitive Radios
15:45  Dr. Tony Ivanov
RF Micro Devices
16:15  BREAK
16:45  Dr. Gregory Heinzinger
CTO, MediaFLO USA (*Qualcomm)
MEMS in your Cellphone? Opportunities and Challenges
17:15  Prof. Albert Pisano
Harsh Environment Wireless
17:45  Prof. Kamal Sarabandi
University of Michigan, EECS
Recent Advances on Antenna Miniaturization
18:15  Prof. Clark Nguyen
Discussion & End Session
18:30  Hors d'Oeuvres Reception/Mixer
19:30  Adjourn

Research Review: Plenary Talks and *Poster Sessions
18 September 2008
Clark Kerr Krutch Theatre and *Great Hall

TimeSpeaker, Event / Topic Information
07:30  Continental Breakfast
08:30  John Huggins: Welcome, Introduction to the Session
08:40  Prof. Albert Pisano
Session I: 2 Student Talks + Poster Preview
08:45  Ryan Sochol
09:00  Matthew Thompson
09:15  Morning Poster Preview
45-second Overviews of each Project:
Microphotonics, Nanostructures, BioMEMS, Microfluidics, and Micropower
10:00  Morning Poster Session
Begin submitting your Best Poster votes (continue in the afternoon)
11:40  Prof. Ming Wu
Session II: 4 Student Talks
11:45  Dr. Lisen Wang
12:00  Dr. Tushar Bansal
12:15  Benjamin Ross
12:30  YeonHo Choi
12:45  Lunch
14:10  Prof. Bernhard Boser
Session III: 3 Student Talks + Poster Previews
14:15  Mehmet Akgul
14:30  Dr. Jan Kuypers
14:45  Dr. Bongsang Kim
15:00  Afternoon Poster Preview
45-second Overviews of each Project:
Wireless & RF; Physical Sensors & Actuators; Packaging, Process, & Microassembly
15:45  Afternoon Poster Session
Submit your final Best Poster votes
17:25  Prof. David Horsley
Session IV: Invited Faculty talk + 3 student talks
17:30  Prof. David Horsley
Invited Faculty Talk: Single-crystal PMN-PT: a New Piezoelectric Material for MEMS
17:45  Johnny Ho
18:00  Dr. Steven Neale
18:15  David Myers
18:30  John Huggins, Pre-Dinner Mixer
19:30  Awards Banquet
Great Hall
21:15  Adjourn

Industrial Advisory Board Meeting
19 September 2008
Bechtel Engineering Center 120 (Downstairs)

TimeSpeaker, Event / Topic Information
08:00  Continental Breakfast
08:30  John Huggins
State of the Center, Prior Minutes, Items Referred to Membership
09:00  Dr. Mona D. Lee
UC Discovery Matching Funds Program Improvements
09:05  Prof. Richard Muller
LIFE and Ratings results
09:20  Prof. Ming Wu
CITRIS Microlaboratory
09:30  Industrial Chair &
Mark Kasulen
Closed Member Session-Members + NSF only (2 votes per organization)
10:30  Industrial Chair
Reconvene with BSAC Directors: Summary of Membership Discussion & Recommendations
11:30  Close IAB
Box Lunch

Workshop on Environmental and BioMedical Monitoring Microsystems
19 September 2008
Bechtel Engineering Center
Sibley Auditorium

TimeSpeaker, Event / Topic Information
12:30  Registration
13:00  Prof. Michel Maharbiz
13:10  Prof Dorian Liepmann
13:30  Dominic Andrada
Luminex Corporation
14:00  Prof. Luke Lee
14:30  Prof. Jose Carmena
15:00  Break
15:30  Prof. Dick White
15:40  Dr. Zoraida Pascual Aguilar, CTO, Vegrandis
16:00  Dr. Dong Li, Chevron Environmental Group
16:20  Dr. Fred Brechtel, CTO, BMI
16:40  Prof. William W. Nazaroff, Chair, Energy & Resources Group, Civil Engineering
17:10  Prof. Michel Maharbiz
Discussion and Wrap-Up



Recent Agenda

Questions? Comments? Errors or omissions? Please contact the BSAC Webmaster. We welcome your feedback.
Links on these pages to commercial sites do not represent endorsements by UC or its affiliates.